This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of The Hotel On Place Vendome: Life, Death, and Betrayal at the Hotel Ritz in Paris by Tilar J Mazzeo published by Harper
Cover Image of Technopoly: The Surrender of Culture to Technology by Neil Postman published by Vintage Books
Cover Image of The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival by John Vaillant published by Knopf Canada
Cover Image of What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty published by Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam
using bookbuffet
about book groups
online discussions
links & resources
find a book store
book archives & research

Learn More
prize-winners & must-read lists

Keep up-to-date with books that win critical acclaim from around the world.

  • The Nobel Prize for Literature (International): represents lifetime achievement and is given annually to the person who "shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction".
  • The Pulitzer Prize (US): awarded annually to the best American novel and work of non-fiction.
  • PEN/Faulkner Award (US): founded by writers to honor their peers, it is now the largest juried award for fiction in the United States.
  • National Book Awards (US): The National Book Foundation annually presents awards to the outstanding books in the categories of poetry, young peoples literature, non-fiction, and fiction.
  • National Book Critics Circle Award (International): for the finest books published in English in the categories of fiction, general non-fiction, poetry, biography & autobiography, and criticism.
  • The Giller Prize (Canada): Canada's premiere prize for fiction (novel or short story collection).
  • Governer General's Literary Awards (Canada): awarded to the best English-Language and French-Langauge books.
  • The Kirayama Prize (Pacific Rim & South Asia): notable fiction and non-fiction that promotes greater understanding of and among the peoples of the Pacific Rim and South Asia.
  • Man Booker Prize (British Commonwealth & Ireland): continues to be the ultimate accolade for fiction in the United Kingdom.
  • Orange Prize for Fiction (British Commonwealth & Ireland): established following a 1991 Man Booker Prize shortlist that contained no women authors, the Orange Prize celebrates the excellence of womens writing.
  • Miles Frank Literary Award (Australia) The Miles Franklin Literary Award celebrates Australian character and creativity and nurtures the continuing life of literature based on Australia. It is awarded for the novel of the year which is of the highest literary merit and which presents Australian life in any of its phases.

For award-winning genre books (mystery, science fiction, etc.), see Other Genres.

Top literary picks, past and present, from quality sources.

To recommend a link, or to submit your website for inclusion, e-mail us at

home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
tell a friend
© 2019 BookBuffet LLC