This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of Love in the Time of Zanzibar by Ms Jane Jaffer published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Cover Image of Like Water for Chocolate: A Novel in Monthly Installments, With Recipes, Romances and Home Remedies by Laura Esquivel, Carol Christensen, Thomas Christensen published by Prentice Hall (K-12)
Cover Image of Cosmopolis: A Novel by Don DeLillo published by Scribner
bookbuffet features

2004 Yearend Review: The Award Winners


From the National Book Awards to the Whitbread Awards, here are the prize winners of 2004. (Arranged by country and category)


December 04, 2004

 2004 Nobel Prize for Literature

Elfriede Jelinek is the Austrian feminist writer and facinating personality who has captured the post WWII sociosexual politics with her stunning prose. Other BookBuffet articles on the author.

Click here for previous award winners.


2004 Wallace Stevens Award (Poetry)

Mark Strand born on PEI, Canada receiving his MA from Iowa University followed by a Fulbright Scholarship and work as a Fulbright Lecturer, Strand's poetry absorbss his wide travel and aspires to the condition of dreams.

Click here for previous award winners.


Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Donald Revell's My Mojave (Alice James Books, 2003). Click here for more information

National Book Awards

Fiction: The News From Paraguay, Lily Tuck

Non-Fiction: Arc of Justice, Kevin Boyle

Poetry: The Door In The Mountain, Jean Valentine

Young People’s Literature: Godless, Pete Hautman

Click here for all 2004 finalists and for previous year winners.


The Man Booker Prize

(Fiction, British Commonwealth & Ireland)

Line of Beauty, Alan Hollinghurst. The first overtly gay novel to have won this prize. Click here for this year’s finalists as well as past year award winners.


The Giller Prize (Fiction, Canada) 

Runaway , Alice Munro is winning accolades from every direction for her stark depictions of housewives' lives in small rural towns in Ontario. Click here for more information on this year’s winner and finalists.


Governor General’s Literary Awards (Canada)

Fiction: A Complicated Kindness, Mirium Toews

Poetry: Short Journey Upriver Toward Ōishida, Roo Boorsin

Drama: Girl in the Goldfish Bowel, Morris Panych

Non-Fiction: Shake Hands with the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda, Lt.-Gen. Roméo Dallaire

Translation: Mirabelle, Judith Cowan

Click here for the French language award winners.

Cervantes Prize

The Spanish writer and literary realist Rafael Sanchez Ferlosio, age 77  won the $110,000 Cervantes Prize, the Spanish-speaking world's top literary award on December 2, 2004. Experts consider Sanchez Ferlosio's most famous novel, "El Jarama" (1955), a milestone in Spain's post-Civil War literary history.


Still to Come


2004 Whitbread Awards (U.K.)

The shortlists have been announced and the five category winners will be named January 6th, and the overall winner will be announced on January 27.                         

First Novel Award

  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  • The Land as Viewed from the Sea by Richard Collins
  • Eve Green by Susan Fletcher
  • The Maze by Panos Karnezis

Whitbread Novel Award

  • Case Histories by Kate Atkinson
  • Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres
  • The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst
  • Small Island by Andrea Levy Critics Circle

The best books in the categories of fiction, general non-fiction, biography/autobiography, poetry, and criticism published in 2004 will be announced in March 2005. Click here for current and past year award winners.  


2004 Pen/Faulkner Award (Fiction)

The Early Stories: 1953-1975 by John Updike, 2004 finalists and award winner.  


2004 Pulitzer Prize in Letters (Fiction & Non-fiction)

The Known World, Edward P. Jones

Nominations for these awards are accepted through the end of the year and awards will be announced in April 2005. Click here for the current and past year award winners


2004 Orange Prize for Fiction (British Commonwealth & Ireland)

Small Island, Andrea Levy,  Click here for current and past year award winners.


Edgar Awards (Mystery)

Deadlines for nominations in thirteen categories closed in November, and winners will be announced late April, early May 2005 in NYC. Click here for current and past year award winners


Nebula Prizes (Science Fiction)

The best works in five categories will be nominated and voted upon by the Science Fiction Writers Association beginning in January with awards bestowed in April 2005. Click here for current and past year award winners.


Rita Awards (Romance)

75 books in twelve categories will be named finalists in Spring 2005 with winners announced in July 2004. Click here for current and past year award winners.



Social Bookmarks
home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
tell a friend
© 2019 BookBuffet LLC
using bookbuffet
about book groups
online discussions
links & resources
find a book store
book archives & research