This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of Dune by Frank Herbert published by Ace
Cover Image of Their Eyes Were Watching God: A Novel by Zora Neale Hurston published by Perennial
Cover Image of Emma by Jane Austen published by Bantam Classics
bookbuffet features

Shortlist for the Orange Prize Announced: 3 Brits & 3 Americans


 Each year I relish the announcement of the shortlist for the Orange Prize. I've read almost all of the previous winners and can tell you that they have each of them been excellent. Check-out the list announced today. 


April 18, 2005



Joolz Denby Billie Morgan, (Serpent’s Tail) British 3rd Novel This novel begins, 'My name is Billie Morgan. And I am a murderer.'

Jane Gardam Old Filth, (Chatto & Windus) British 15th novel. Jane Gardam is the only author to have won the Whitbread Novel of the Year award twice.

Sheri Holman The Mammoth Cheese, (Virago) American 3rd Novel Sheri Holman is the author of A Stolen Tongue, which has been translated into eleven languages worldwide, and the bestselling novel The Dress Lodger.

Marina Lewycka A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian, (Viking British) 1st Novel. Two daughters try to save their recently widowed father from an immigrant gold-digger trying to seduce and marry him.

Maile Meloy Liars and Saints, (John Murray) American 1st Novel Yvette Santaire meets a photographer who agrees to take a picture of her daughters for her husband away at war.  He steels a kiss from her that will haunt the family for generations.

Lionel Shriver We Need to Talk About Kevin (Serpent’s Tail) American 7th Novel. Kevin Katchadourian killed seven of his fellow high-school students, a cafeteria worker and a teacher, shortly before his sixteenth birthday.

“We are delighted to be celebrating 10 years of the Orange Prize for Fiction”, commented Pippa Dunn, Director of Brand Marketing at Orange. “The Prize has grown to become one of Britain’s most prestigious international literary awards. The depth and variety revealed in this year’s shortlist reflects the range and calibre of women’s writing that the Orange Prize has championed since its inception ten years ago.”

The Prize was set up in 1996 to celebrate and promote fiction by women throughout the world to the widest range of readers possible and is awarded for the best novel of the year written by a woman.

Previous winners of the Orange Prize for Fiction are Helen Dunmore for A Spell of Winter (1996), Anne Michaels for Fugitive Pieces (1997), Carol Shields for Larry’s Party (1998), Suzanne Berne for A Crime in the Neighbourhood (1999), Linda Grant for When I Lived in Modern Times (2000), Kate Grenville for The Idea of Perfection (2001), Ann Patchett for Bel Canto (2002) ,Valerie Martin for Property (2003) and Angela Levy for Small Island (2004).

Surprise your book group.

If you sign-up with Bookbuffet (or are an existing member) and purchase one of the Orange Prize short list books using our affiliate hyperlink to retailers above, we'll do a draw and the winner gets 5 copies of the 2005 Orange Prize winning novel. 

[Just send us an e-mail with the subject line "I am a BookBuffet Member and just purchased this Orange Prize Short listed book (and fill in the title) via your website." Be sure to include your proof of electronic purchase confirmation info.] That's five books for the price of one!

Orange-you-glad you read this?



Social Bookmarks
home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
tell a friend
© 2018 BookBuffet LLC
using bookbuffet
about book groups
online discussions
links & resources
find a book store
book archives & research