This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of Last Last Chance: A Novel by Fiona Maazel published by Picador
Cover Image of The Education of Little Tree by Forrest Carter, Rennard Strickland published by University of New Mexico Press
Cover Image of Mercy Among the Children: A Novel by David Adams Richards published by Washington Square Press
bookbuffet features

2005 Giller Prize Winner is David Bergen for The Time In Between

abstract:The 2005 Scotiabank Giller Prize was awarded to David Bergen for his novel The Time In Between (McLelland and Sterwart) a luminious story alternately told by Charles Boatman and his daughter Ava, about their separate journies to Vietnam from the Pacific Northwest; one to come to terms with post war hauntings from military experience; the other to reconsile the shadow cast over her upbringing by her father's past.


November 09, 2005

The Giller Prize

This year marks the richest prize money - doubled from last year to $50,000 for the winner through the Scotiabank partnership - renamed The GillerScotiabank Prize.

The Giller Prize was founded in 1994 by Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, who passed away from cancer the year before. The award recognized excellence in Canadian fiction – long format or short stories – and endowed a cash prize annually, now the largest purse for literature in the country.

More than 2.5 million Giller-nominated books were sold in the first 10 years of the prize. Over $60 million dollars in book sales to date have been generated as a direct result of the prize. The Giller Prize has so far endowed more than $250,000 to Canadian writers from coast to coast.

The Shortlist

It is always good to keep an eye on the authors and books appearing in the shortlist. Five authors and their books were announced on September 28, 2005. The other four finalists winning $2,500 are:

Joan Barfoot for her novel Luck, published by Knopf Canada. Nora wakes up to find her husband Philip is lying next to her dead.

Camilla Gibb for her novel Sweetness in the Belly, published by Doubleday Canada. Lily is left by her parents in a London Muslim shrine only to discover her parents have been murdered and she must build herself a life.

Lisa Moore for her novel Alligator, published by House of Anansi Press. Lisa Moore is a stylist in a class with Virginia Woolf and Jeannette Winterson. No one else in mainstream Canadian fiction writes quite like Lisa Moore.

Edeet Ravel for her novel A Wall of Light, published by Random House Canada. This last book of the Tel Aviv trilogy tells the poignant, humorous and heartbreaking story of three generations of an Israeli family.


Selected by a distinguished jury panel comprised of writers Warren Cariou, Elizabeth Hay and Richard B. Wright, the finalists were chosen from 94 eligible books from all regions of the country.

About The Author

David Bergen is the author of three highly-acclaimed novels:

  • A Year of Lesser, a New York Times Notable Book and winner of the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award;
  • See the Child; and, most recently,
  • The Case of Lena S., winner of the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award, and a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction, the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award, and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction.

He is also the author of a collection of short fiction, Sitting Opposite My Brother, which was a finalist for the Manitoba Book of the Year Award. David Bergen lives in Winnipeg.



Social Bookmarks
home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
tell a friend
© 2018 BookBuffet LLC
using bookbuffet
about book groups
online discussions
links & resources
find a book store
book archives & research