This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of Everything Is Illuminated: A Novel by Jonathan Safran Foer published by Houghton Mifflin Co
Cover Image of Ross Poldark: A Novel of Cornwall, 1783-1787 by Winston Graham published by Sourcebooks Landmark
Cover Image of Foundation by Isaac Asimov published by Bantam Spectra Books
bookbuffet features

The BC Book Award April 25th

abstract:The finalists for the 34th annual BC Book Award were announced, and the gala takes place April 25th at Pinnacle Vancouver Harbour Front Hotel when the winners will be announced. Tickets are $120 ($110 for members).

The BC Book Award was established in 1985, to celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers. There are seven categories and we have chosen our favourite for each. See the website for full shortlist:

  • The Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for the best original work of literary fiction.
    The Beautiful West & The Beloved of God by Michael Springate (published by Guernica Editions)
    The Beautiful West & The Beloved of God
    Elena and Mahfouz meet in Montreal in the spring of 2008. That summer, however, Mahfouz doesn’t return from a trip to Cairo, and his father is picked up and held indefinitely for unknown charges on undisclosed evidence. No longer in contact with each other, Elena and Mahfouz must separately come to terms with their historical situation, preparing for a future shaped by forces they struggle to understand. The Beautiful West & The Beloved of God maps currents of world history as they coursed through Montreal in the first decade of the 21st century.
  • Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize awarded to the best work of poetry. Supported by the B.C. Teachers’ Federation
  • Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize is awarded to the book which contributes the most to the enjoyment and understanding of the province of British Columbia. The book must be original and may deal with any aspect of the province (people, history, geography, oceanography, etc.). Supported by Marquis, Victoria Bindery, and First Choice Books
  • article:

    April 05, 2015

  • Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize can be awarded to novels, chapter books, and non-fiction books, including biography, that is aimed at juveniles and young adults, which have not been highly illustrated. Supported by Friends of Sheila Egoff
  • Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize goes to authors and illustrator(s) of picture books, picture story books, and illustrated non-fiction books for children. The prize is shared by the author(s) and illustrator(s). Supported by Kate Walker and Kidsbooks
  • The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the Province. This award has a separate nomination form and submission deadline. There is no fee to submit a nomination. Supported by The Honourable Lieutenant Governor of BC/
  • Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award was founded by bookstore owner Bill Duthie and is presented to the originating publisher(s) and the author(s) of the book that is the most successful in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production and content. The prize is shared by the publisher(s) and the author(s). B.C./Yukon booksellers determine the winner by ballot vote. Supported by the BC Booksellers’ Association


    Social Bookmarks
    home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
    tell a friend
    © 2019 BookBuffet LLC
    using bookbuffet
    about book groups
    online discussions
    links & resources
    find a book store
    book archives & research