This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of No Enemies, No Hatred: Selected Essays and Poems by Xiaobo Liu published by Belknap Press of Harvard University Press
Cover Image of Mauritania by Paula Shackleton published by Ewrks Media Inc
Cover Image of The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton published by McClelland & Stewart
bookbuffet features

Children's Book Award Winners Announced

abstract:Considered the Academy Awards of children's book publishing, the Caldecott and Newbery Medal winners were announced by the American Library Association this past weekend.


January 28, 2003
— The Randolph Caldecott Medal is awarded annually for outstanding illustration of a work published in the United States during the previous year.


The 2003 Randolph Caldecott Medal was awarded to Eric Rohmann, illustrator and author of My Friend Rabbit.


"Eric Rohmann's hand-colored relief prints express a vibrant energy through solid black outlines, lightly textured backgrounds and a robust use of color," said Pat Scales, chair of the 2003 Caldecott Award committee. "The black frame cannot contain Rabbit's enthusiasm in this dramatic visual romp, as the characters tumble and spill from the page and back on again. The artist shows his respect for his audience and keen understanding of picture book design. Whatever they do and wherever they go, children will claim Rabbit as their friend."


Three Caldecott Medal Honor Books were also named:

The John Newbery Medal is awarded annually for outstanding writing of a work published in the United States during the previous year.


The 2003 John Newbery Medal was awarded to Avi, author of Crispin: The Cross of Lead.


"Avi masterfully creates a plot that sustains tension and suspense from beginning to end, while seamlessly weaving in details of daily medieval life," said Starr LaTronica, chair of the 2003 Newbery Award committee. "Readers experience Crispin's surroundings through Avi's sensory descriptions; they see, hear, smell, taste and feel his world. In the hands of a superb craftsman, Crispin is a fascinating coming-of-age novel that brings to readers a riveting adventure and invites them to consider how life hundreds of years ago echoes our contemporary search for freedom."


Five Newbery Honor Books were also named:

In addition to the Caldecott and Newbery Medals, the following prestigious awards were also announced.


Coretta Scott King Award honors African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults.

Michael L. Printz Award acknowledges excellence in young adult literature.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award is presented to the most distinguished informational book for children.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.


Eric Carle is the 2003 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award winner. He has published over 70 picture books, including these favorites:

You can learn more about this virtuoso children's book author and illustrator by visiting the official Eric Carle website


For more information on the American Library Association youth media awards and notables, visit the ALA website.



Social Bookmarks
home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
tell a friend
© 2019 BookBuffet LLC
using bookbuffet
about book groups
online discussions
links & resources
find a book store
book archives & research