This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of The End of East by Jen Sookfong Lee published by Vintage Canada
Cover Image of For Love by Sue Miller published by HarperCollins (paper)
Cover Image of Vampire Vow by Michael Schiefelbein published by Alyson Books
 
bookbuffet features
 

Christopher Hitchen Dies at 62

abstract:It might seem ironic that the man considered one of this generation's best, if not most controversial, essayists and speakers, prone to a prodigious often vitriolic verbal attack on his topic or target d'moment (Mother Teresa, Henry Kissinger, the royal familyóGod) has died of complications of esophageal cancer. It's as though the words and the cigarettes conspired against him. He was a great friend of other great literary personalities and minds: Ian McEwan, Martin Amos, Salman Rushdie, and I watched him with great interest on all the Charlie Rose interviews. He could recite in entirety several of his favorite books and also his favorite plays by Shakespeare. A prolific writer he contributed articles to: The New Statesman, the London Evening Standard, Londonís Daily Express, Harperís, The Spectator, and The Times Literary Supplement, among others. He was an editor and writer at Vanity Fair and wrote for Slate, The Atlantic among others. His books include The Trial of Henry Kissinger (Verso, 2001), Letters to a Young Contrarian (Basic, 2001), God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Twelve, 2007), Hitch-22: A Memoir (Twelve, 2010), and Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens (Twelve, 2011), a collection of his later essays. He took pains to assure people he had not changed his views on religion after being diagnosed with cancer. The world shall miss his brilliant mind, "slashing polemicist in the tradition of Thomas Paine and George Orwell" to use a quote from William Grimes of The New York Times eulogy in today's paper.

Here is a selection of tributes:

article:

December 16, 2011

 

 

Social Bookmarks
analytics
home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
tell a friend
 
© 2017 BookBuffet LLC
 
using bookbuffet
about book groups
online discussions
links & resources
find a book store
book archives & research