This site will look much better and function properly in a browser that supports web standards.

bookbuffet: the one-stop web resource for book groups
Cover Image of King Smurf (Smurf Adventure) by Peyo, Peyo., Yvan Delporte published by Random House (P)
Cover Image of Miss Lonelyhearts & the Day of the Locust by Nathanael West published by W.W. Norton & Company
Cover Image of Palace of Treason: A Novel by Jason Matthews published by Scribner
bookbuffet features

Whitbread Award Goes to the Dogs


Mark Haddon received the 2003 Whitbread Book of the Year award for his novel, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.


January 28, 2004
— The murder-mystery, published in both adult and children’s versions by British publisher Jonathan Cape, was an overwhelming favorite to win the £ 50,000 U.K. award. The other Whitbread category winners are:


Whitbread First Novel Award
Vernon God Little, by DBC Pierre


Whitbread Biography Award
Orwell: The Life
, by D. J. Taylor


Whitbread Poetry Award
Landing Light, by Don Paterson
*book available from Amazon UK 


Whitbread Children’s Book Award
The Fire-Eaters
, by David Almond



Click here for previous Whitbread Award winners.



Social Bookmarks
home |  about |  buy books |  contact |  help |  legal |  media & press releases |  privacy |  reviewers & authors |  sitemap | 
tell a friend
© 2018 BookBuffet LLC
using bookbuffet
about book groups
online discussions
links & resources
find a book store
book archives & research